Book of the Week: The Things We Cannot Say

I haven’t read this one but I’ve downloaded it to Audible AND Kindle to begin this weekend because my friend Laura recommended it and I typically LOVE her recommendations. Here’s what Amazon has to say about it:

“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war.Read More »

Book of the Week: If the Creek Don’t Rise

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.   It is a very well written author’s debut.  It’s a murder mystery, a backwoods tale, a girl gets revenge saga, and a sweet story of friendship….all wrapped up into one little book that is a very fast read!

Here’s what Amazon  had to say about it:

“He’s gonna be sorry he ever messed with me and Loretta Lynn

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days.… Read More »

Book of the Week ~ The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell

Thanks to one our our Aha! Connection Book Club Facebook Group members, Lisa Bragg, for letting us know about this book. The Kindle version is free for Amazon Prime members!  I downloaded it yesterday and plan to read it soon.  Here’s what Amazon has to say about it:

Wall Street Journal and New York Times bestselling author Robert Dugoni’s coming-of-age story is, according to Booklist, “a novel that, if it doesn’t cross entirely over into John Irving territory, certainly nestles in close to the border.”

Sam Hill always saw the world through different eyes.… Read More »

The Book Festival of the MJCCA Presents its 28th Edition

Calling all book lovers! From October 30 – November 18, 2019, the Book Festival of the MJCCA will celebrate 28 years of bringing culture and conversation to the greater Atlanta community. This year’s Book Festival repertoire of 45+ authors has something to offer all festival-goers. More than 13,000 people from across the Southeast will come to engage with and listen to their favorite local, national, and international authors.… Read More »

Click to view website »

Contact:

MJCCA Box Office
(678) 812-4002
boxoffice@atlantajcc.org

Book of the Month Giveaway: Through the Eyes of a Lion

Congrats to our winner:  Donna Highberger

A dear friend gave me this paperback several years ago and somehow it made it to the top of my reading stack recently.   I typically read books on my Kindle but was missing the feel of a book in my hands.  Wow…I literally read this book in a day.   I found myself highlighting passages I wanted to go back to and realized I was highlighting almost every word. … Read More »

28th Edition of the Book Festival of the MJCCA

October 30 – November 18, 2019

45+ Authors / Two Epic Weeks

Individual Tickets and Series Passes on Sale Now!

 

Headlining Authors Include:

Preet Bharara Hillary Rodham Clinton and Chelsea Clinton Akbar GbajabiamilaNikki R. Haley Jodi Kantor Adam Rippon Bari Weiss Henry Winkler and many more!

Local Authors Include:

Perry Brickman Zoe Fishman Sherry Frank Lynn Garson Andy Lipman Bev Saltzman LewynPat Mitchell Brent Pease & Kyle PeaseI.J.Read More »

Big Book Sale at Dunwoody Library

The Friends of the Dunwoody Library will host its next BIG BOOK SALE Thursday, Sept. 26 through Monday, Sept. 30 at the library, 5339 Chamblee-Dunwoody Road. A special preview for Friends starts at 1 p.m. Thursday. The sale is open to the public 4 to 8 pm Thursday, and 10-5 Friday and Saturday. On Monday from 10-8, fill a large grocery bag for $6.00.… Read More »

Click to view website »

Contact:

(770) 512-4640
info@friendsofdunwoodylibrary.org

Books of the Week Giveaway on National Read-A-Book Day! Congrats Helen S!

Update:   Congrats Helen Steinheimer!   You were randomly selected to win all three of these books!   Enjoy but don’t forget to email us with your feedback when done!

 

Today is National Read-A-Book Day and we’re giving away our three latest reads. Go to our Facebook or Instagram Page, Like the post and comment with your favorite latest read or your next to enter to win.… Read More »

Book of the Week: Next Year in Havana

I haven’t read Next Year in Havana yet, but it comes highly recommended from a friend. (Thanks T.S.)  I’ve had projects that are keeping me from my reading time but will soon be in need of a new book and I’ve decided this one is it!  Reese Witherspoon chose it for her book club last July and I have really liked the few “Reese Picks” that I’ve read!  … Read More »

Book of the Week/Giveaway ~ Where’d You Go Bernadette

By Audra H. Anders for The Aha! Connection

I love movies and books so I particularly love when a book turns into a movie!   Earlier this week we gave away passes to an upcoming screening for Where’d You Go Bernadette.  I’m trying to obtain a few more passes for the event but meanwhile decided to give away a paperback copy of the book!  … Read More »

Book of the Week: Killers of the Flower Moon


I tend to lean heavily towards fiction, or at least historical fiction, when choosing books to read.   However, I try to make myself throw in a few fact based books fairly often.   I chose Killers of the Flower Moon because it was high time for me to read a true story.   It also grabbed my attention because of being a best seller, winner of multiple awards, and the story is touted as “the birth of the FBI”.… Read More »

Book of the Week: Magic Hour by Kristin Hannah

by Audra H. Anders for The Aha! Connection

My friend Kristin (not the author) recommended Magic Hour when we were in Destin during spring break.   I picked it up last week and devoured in just a few sittings.    I found myself making excuses for reading time….which wasn’t hard since everyone else in my house was preoccupied with the road to the College World Series.… Read More »

Book of the Week: Bringing Up Boys: Shaping the Next Generation of Men by James Dobson

My hardback version of Bringing Up Boys:  Shaping the Next Generation of Men was copyrighted 2001, the year my youngest son was born.   I grabbed it from my library today to review something I remembered from this amazing book.  I realized when putting it back on the shelf that I’ve had this book for 18 years and it is the parenting book that I most often refer to.  … Read More »