Lauren’s Foodie Gift Guide Part 2…For the Adventurous home cooks

by Lauren Townsend for The Aha! Connection

Foodie Gift Guide Part 2…Adventurous home cooks. I love to cook. It’s hard to believe, but we really don’t go out to eat very often. I really don’t need any new bulky appliances that are going to take up a bunch of room and get dragged out once a decade, (well there is one exception on this list) I want fun things that are fun-ctional or teach me something new, or both.… Read More »

Lauren’s Foodie Gift Guide Part 1

by Lauren Townsend for The Aha! Connection

Do you have a foodie friend? I’ve found that just because someone likes to eat, doesn’t mean that they like to cook. Technically the term foodie doesn’t refer to someone who likes to cook, only eat, which I enjoy doing both. I’ve put together some gift suggestions for your friends and family that like to eat OR cook.… Read More »

Redistricting – Can we be fair and square and remain #DunwoodyStrong?

by Audra Anders for The Aha! Connection

First of all, I have the WORST cold but even if I were feeling tip top, the LAST thing I want to spend my time on is studying these Austin Elementary redistricting maps, PAC letters and heated Facebook commentaries.   Literally there are a zillion things I’d rather be doing, including having my big toe amputated.… Read More »

Book of the Week: The Things We Cannot Say

I haven’t read this one but I’ve downloaded it to Audible AND Kindle to begin this weekend because my friend Laura recommended it and I typically LOVE her recommendations. Here’s what Amazon has to say about it:

“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war.Read More »

Girlfriend Gift Guide by Lauren Townsend

by Lauren Townsend for The Aha! Connection

When it comes to friends, gift-giving can be tricky and stressful, which is exactly what your friends wouldn’t want. I’m willing to guess that I’m the worst person to shop for and I’m the worst at just buying a gift. My first priority would be to make someone something personal, but that is simply not feasible during the holidays.… Read More »

Lunch with Lauren: Let’s Talk About Thanksgiving! (Part 2)

by Lauren Townsend for The Aha! Connection

It should come as no surprise that I have very strong feelings about cranberry sauce. I have to make cranberry sauce and it is not like the stuff that comes in a can. It comes in a can, right? The good things about making your own cranberry sauce is that you don’t have to make too much and you can make it way ahead of time.… Read More »

Lunch with Lauren: Coconut Soup + Beef and Broccoli

Coconut Soup:  When I meal plan for the week, I like to make sure that ingredients overlap, so I’m not being wasteful. We love coconut soup. I usually use crab or shrimp, but since Lynn is actually home for dinner these days and doesn’t eat seafood, I used chicken and mushrooms. I chopped garlic and ginger and sauteed in fat from cooking the chicken.… Read More »

Lunch with Lauren: Let’s Talk About Thanksgiving! (Part 1)

by Lauren Townsend for The Aha! Connection

Thanksgiving is my husband’s FAVORITE holiday; Comfort food and football. It is a common misconception that we must have some kind of fancy Thanksgiving because we were both chefs, but we like everything traditional. Years ago, when we were just getting to know our, now best friends, the Burdas, they asked if we’d like to come over for Thanksgiving since we didn’t have family here.… Read More »

Contact:

lauren@theahaconnection.com

Book of the Week: If the Creek Don’t Rise

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.   It is a very well written author’s debut.  It’s a murder mystery, a backwoods tale, a girl gets revenge saga, and a sweet story of friendship….all wrapped up into one little book that is a very fast read!

Here’s what Amazon  had to say about it:

“He’s gonna be sorry he ever messed with me and Loretta Lynn

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days.… Read More »

Lauren’s Take on Recent DCSD BOE meeting

by Lauren Townsend for The Aha! Connection

I attended my first DeKalb County School Board of Education monthly meeting last night. It started roughly 50 minutes behind schedule making it both frustrating and a relief for those who had trouble getting to Stone Mountain at 5:30 pm on a weeknight. The room was packed with people representing specific areas of DeKalb county or that had grievances.… Read More »

Audra’s 2019 Halloween Synopsis + Trick-or-Treater Graph since 1984

My husband and I bought our home from the original owners in 2002. The Orgerons loved Halloween. Interestingly enough, they kept a tally of the number of trick-or-treaters that came to the front door each Halloween since 1984. We kept up the tradition of counting as accurately as we can with the help of all our Halloween guests each year.… Read More »

The Teal Pumpkin Project – Audra has a teal pumpkin!

by Audra H Anders for The Aha! Connection

I have food allergies and it stinks.  I aged into these allergies so thankfully never had to pilfer through baskets on Halloween for gluten free candy as a child.  However, I can certainly sympathize with kiddos who have food allergies.  Therefore, at my house we offer non-edible treats PLUS the regular amazing candy treats!  … Read More »